TR565: The Stan Tracey Big Band "Genesis" with Stan Tracey and his Orchestra.

Re-released, another classic Stan Tracey album from 1987 featuring his Big Band in top form along with his terrific compositions and orchestrations.

John Barclay (tp), Steve Sidwell (tp), Guy Barker (tp), Henry Lowther (tp), Malcolm Griffiths (tb), Chris Pyne (tb), Geoff Perkins (tb), Pete King (as), Jamie Talbot (as), Tony Coe (ts, cl), Art Themen (ts), Phil Todd (bs), Stan Tracey (p), Roy Babbington (b), Clark Tracey (d)

1 The Beginning (6:56)
2 The Light (6:38) -
3 The Firmament (3:40) -
4 The Gathering (7:12) -
5 The Sun, Moon & Stars (5:23) -
6 Feather, Fin & Limb (10:15) -1 - -1: Pete Smith (tb) replaces Malcolm Griffiths
7 The Sixth Day (7:11) -1: Pete Smith (tb) replaces Malcolm Griffiths ‘

Tracey’s quirkish, asymmetrical melodies, his fresh and unhackneyed approach to orchestration and his impeccable choice of soloists make him one of the finest composers in jazz today.’

Dave Gelly, The Observer

‘.....Stan Tracey has now turned his attention to the opening chapter of the all-time bestseller. The result is one of Stan’s strongest achievements in an ltogether distinguished canon..... This is another milestone for Stan Tracey, one of the world’s most inspired composers and performers.’
Sally-Ann Worsfold,

The Turntable


PRICE £11.14 inc. postage and packing

sent out immediately by first class post

‘Genesis is a suite in seven parts which, like the Ellington suites, is not designed to have a sense of thematic continuity as much as a plot which uses a wide range of voicings, textures and groupings to tell a gripping story. It is a musical drama, one of the finest we think, that Tracey has ever recorded.’
Anthony Troon, The Scotsman

‘Make no mistake, Genesis is a major achievement’ Peter Vacher

‘And the verdict on Stan Tracey’s Genesis? No doubt it is one of his most accomplished, most mature pieces of writing. In seven parts and scored for a 15-piece big band, it demands, but also rewards, close listening from the moment Tracey strikes the ominous opening chords of “The Beginning”.....’

Kevin Henriques, The Financial Times