Dave Newton / Andrew Cleyndert / Colin Oxley - Out Of This World


01 out of this world (harold arlen) 8:18

02 who cares? (george gershwin) 6:59

03 valse jaq (david newton) 6:00

04 i’ll be seeing you (sammy fain) 5:05

05 por toda minha vida/o grande amor (a c jobim) 7:02

06 laverne walk (oscar pettiford) 5:01

07 all grown up (david newton) 4:49

08 lament (j j johnson) 5:54

09 looking at you (david newton) 4:46

10 a felicidade (a c jobim) 4:59

11 why did i choose you? (leonard/martin) 5:31

total time 64.51

David Newton - piano

Andrew Cleyndert - double bass

Colin Oxley - guitar

Trio Records celebrates the 15th anniversary of their first release, the album ‘My Ideal’ (TR555) by Andrew Cleyndert, Colin Oxley and the late Colin Purbrook, with the album ‘Out Of This World’ with the same drum-less trio format featuring piano, bass and guitar. The piano chair was a difficult one to fill, Colin Purbrook having been one of Britain’s quiet gems. Colin not only had an encyclopedic knowledge of jazz piano, but a rare refined touch and sense of swing. David Newton, although having a somewhat more florid style compared to Purbrook’s more economical and sparse approach, seemed the obvious choice with his naturally deft touch and infectious feel for the music. Fifteen years has seen the playing of Colin Oxley and Andrew Cleyndert mature and strengthen with their accumulated experience. Colin Oxley has augmented his intelligent soloing and command of the rhythmic aspects of jazz guitar with a confidence and ‘edge’ of the world-class player he has become. Andrew Cleyndert has similarly strengthened the roots of his playing to become a foundation of much more depth of any group he performs within displaying a broader musicality and agility.

As with ‘My Ideal’, ‘Out Of This World’ takes a mixture of lesser played standards, Jobim numbers and a few originals to create a well rounded, thoughtful and, most of all, swinging album. David Newton has been on the jazz scene in excess of 30 years and in that time has gained a reputation as a highly original, engaging artist with an instinctive rhythmic and melodic feel for jazz which has made him not only popular with his peers and audiences but also amongst vocalists as their favoured accompanist. Those have included Carol Kidd, Marion Montgomery, Tina May, Annie Ross, Claire Martin, and Stacey Kent with whom he toured all over the world for ten years and accompanied her on the journey from student to a highly successful international artist. David Newton’s early childhood influences of Peterson, Garner and Tatum are clearly evident in his playing today with his naturally engaging ability for solo and trio playing. He has an ability to truly improvise and arrange on the spot, taking his listeners on a vivid musical journey utilizing his overriding melodic sense and infectious feel.

A graduate of Leeds College of Music he moved to London in the early eighties quickly teaming up with jazz guitarist Martin Taylor, and saxophonists Don Weller and Alan Barnes, and touring with Buddy De Franco. A winner of the British Jazz Awards no less than eleven times, recent collaborations have seen him featured in Guy Barker’s orchestra, with James Pearson at Ronnie Scotts Club, and in duet with Jason Rebello and violinists Aaron Weinstein and Tim Kliphuis. As well as an accomplished pianist David Newton is also a distinctive composer with the same keen melodic sense he displays in his piano playing. Examples of his compositions are featured on the many recordings under his own name as well as writing specifically for Martin Taylor, Alan Barnes, Tina May and Claire Martin. Newton's music can also be heard on many television productions, especially in the United States where over twenty TV movies benefit from Newton's haunting themes. Three of his compositions are included on this release.

Colin Oxley is undoubtedly a class leading guitar talent. Born in Newcastle upon Tyne he studied at Newcastle School of Music before attending the Guildhall School in London. Whilst at the Guildhall he won the Best Soloist award in the National Big Band competition and upon leaving he went on to work with some of the top performers in London including recording six albums with vocalist Stacey Kent and appearing at such festivals as Montreux, North Sea and Marciac. In 2001 Colin was voted Jazz Musician of the Year by the Worshipful Company of Musicians. Colin has also worked extensively in Japan with his wife Eriko Ishihara and produced two of her albums for a Japanese record label. Currently he can be seen leading his own groups, in duet with Martin Speake and as part of the increasingly popular hand-picked John Wilson Orchestra with which he has all ready made a couple of appearances at the BBC Proms. He is currently a professor at Guildhall School of Music in London where he teaches jazz guitar and is admired by his peers as an exceptional musician.

Andrew Cleyndert, well known to jazz audiences for the past thirty years since starting out in the bands of Don Weller and Bobby Wellins, has enjoyed a flourishing career on the UK’s jazz scene and beyond. Crossing paths with both David Newton and Colin Oxley on many occasions in associations including Carol Kidd, Alan Barnes, Annie Ross and Don Weller, he was seen regularly at Ronnie Scotts club with the maestro himself as part of the Ronnie Scott Sextet and Quartet as well as accompanying international artists such as George Coleman, Lee Konitz and James Moody. Latterly he has been associated with the UK’s most highly regarded artist, Stan Tracey, having recorded with and worked in his myriad of groups for the past fifteen years appearing on countless festivals and major concert venues. Further afield he has worked in Europe with piano legends Gene Harris, Benny Green, Junior Mance, and more recently, a tour with Tamir Hendleman.

Andrew Cleyndert has also run Trio Records since it’s conception parallel to his playing career giving the opportunity to an array of distinguished musicians to release their work and building a significant documentation of the jazz scene in this country over the past fifteen years.